Post 911 GI Bill

book spiralWell everyone, it’s finally really here. The Post 9/11 GI Bill and I am more than happy to say that I will definitely be taking advantage of it. Since my husband intends on completing his course work while he’s active, this gives me the opportunity to (finally) finish my degree. Although he’s still on sea duty(Navy), I’ll be working on my classes one at a time.  It’s great to have a program that applies to the families as well as those that serve in uniform because we aspire to greater things as well.

A little bit of history because I’m a history buff. The original GI Bill was signed into law by President Franklin Roosevelt on June 22, 1944 and 49% of all college graduates were returning soldiers from World War II.  49%! That’s a huge number, isn’t it? They went on to accomplish wonderful things and truly be the Greatest Generation.

So sign up for the Post 911 GI Bill and go or go back to school. Realize your dreams and do what truly makes you happy. I will be the absolute last person to tell you that it will be easy but, as my sister, Toni, who is Air Force said, “One class at a time”.

We have inspiration everywhere. Surround yourself with those who will lift you up and go for it. I’ll need that reminder myself everyone now and then, but if I can make it through deployments, 2 kids, a full time job, finances to handle and a home, what can’t I do? Whether it’s online or in class, our opportunities are endless.

Education is simply the soul of a society as it passes from one generation to another.  ~G.K. Chesterton

Let us be that next generation……..

Dora

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

