Honoring a Fallen Warrior, Writer and Blogger

H/tip to Milblogging.com.  We mourn the loss of a young man, who wrote a blog from Afghanistan.  In the story from Military.com, his mother reads from his journal for the family

“I know you don’t enjoy the path I have chosen for myself but trust me it’s so very rewarding,” she read. “You know I know it bothers you that I am here. … but what kind of person would I be, Ma, if I didn’t try to make this better.

“OK?” she said at the end. “That’s my son.”

That was a young man who cared, who made a difference, who will be missed, and that every mom would be proud of.

*********

March 23rd, 2009

Sgt. Christopher P. Abeyta, 23, of Midlothian, Illinois, was killed last week while serving in Afghanistan. Sgt. Abeyta and two other soldiers who were with him, Sgt. Robert M. Weinger and Spc. Norman Cain III, were also killed when the vehicle they were riding in was struck by an IED.

Sgt. Abeyta ran a military blog from Afghanistan called The Chronicles of Butters! and according to a news story Sgt. Ab eyta had kept a journal since he was 11-years old…

More here.

Leave a Reply

